34th Annual Fred & Adele Astaire Awards 2016, the Douglas Watt Family Fund for the Performing Arts, Honoring Judith Jamison and Nigel Lythgoe on Monday, May 16, 2016 [LM]






The 34th Annual Fred & Adele Astaire Awards, which recognizes outstanding achievements in dance on Broadway and in film, takes place on Monday, May 16, 2016. This year’s Award Recipients are Judith Jamison, Artistic Director Emerita at Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater and Nigel Lythgoe, Creator & Executive Director of So You Think You Can Dance.

The gala evening, which will be held at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts in New York, will commence with a Red Carpet & VIP Cocktail Reception at 6:00 p.m. The Performances & Awards will start at 7:30 p.m. after which a VIP After Party will be held at the Hebrew Union College.  There will be a special appearance by actress, singer and impressionist Christina Bianco. Producing the event are Patricia Watt, NYC Dance Alliance, Fred Astaire Studios, Todd Allan, and Beth Bogush. Associate Producers are Jessica Zippin and Alix Michel.

All proceeds from the event will benefit non-profit 501 c(3) organization The Douglas Watt Family Fund for the Performing Arts, which provides Dance and Movement Therapy for autistic and disabled children in New York City. The goal of the organization is to bring artistic expression to the developmentally disabled children in our community.

The Nominating Committee Chair is Wendy Federman, supported by committee members: Nikki Atkins, Ted Chapin, Pat Collins, Don Correia, Sandy Duncan, Jonathan C. Herzog, Judith Jamison, Anna Kisselgoff, Pia Lindstrom, Donna McKechnie, Bruce Michael, Mary McColl, Michael Milton, Mary Beth O’Connor, Laura Penn, Wendy Perron, Lee Roy Reams, Andy Sandberg and Harry Haun.

The Honorary Committee is comprised of: Karole Armitage, Rob Ashford, Hinton Battle, Bob Balaban, Marisa Berenson, Anna Bergman, Patricia Birch, Chase Brock, Tricia Brouk, Ron Brown, Jeff Calhoun, Warren Carlyle, Marge Champion, Wayne Cilento, Louis Hirschfeld Cullman, Arlene Dahl, Jacques D’Amboise, Graciela Daniele, Peter Darling, Marguerite Derricks, Kelly Devine, Marcia Milgrom Dodge, Eve Ensler, Daniel Ezralow, Jules Fisher, Roberta Flack, Wilhelmina Frankfurt, Mario Fratti, Christopher Gattelli, Mitzi Gaynor, Kearran Giovanni, Savion Glover, Joel Grey, Peggy Hickey, Steven Hoggett, JoAnn Hunter, Anne Jackson, Susan Jaffee, Denis Jones, Paul Katz, Larry Keigwin, Daniel Knechtges, Spencer Liff, Michele Lynch, Kathleen Marshall, Rob Marshall, Julie McDonald, Donna McKechnie, Joey McKneely, Stephen Mear, Liza Minnelli, Jerry Mitchell, Bebe Neuwirth, Phyllis Newman, Casey Nicholaw, Marsha Norman, Kenny Ortega, Robert Osbourne, Jeffrey Page, Daniel Pelzig, Jane Powell, Josh Prince, Ann Reinking, Michael Rubenstein, Wendy Seyb, Lisa Schriver, Randy Skinner, Victoria Traube, Sergio Trujillo, Anthony van Laast, Chet Walker, Patti Wilcox and Matt Williams.

About The Fred & Adele Astaire Awards

The Fred & Adele Astaire Awards were established in 1982 to recognize outstanding achievement in dance on Broadway and in film. The annual awards were established with the cooperation of Fred Astaire to also honor his sister Adele, who starred with her brother in ten Broadway musicals between 1917 and 1931. The Fred & Adele Awards remain the gold standard for excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway and film.  Since 1982, additional awards have been added, including the award for best choreography in film, the lifetime achievement award, and a unique award determined annually for exceptional contribution to the field.

For more information and tickets, visit www.theastaireawards.org/


WHEN:   Monday May 16th, 2016

6:00 p.m. – 7:15 p.m. – Red Carpet & VIP Cocktail Reception*

7:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. – Performances & Awards*

9:00 p.m. – VIP After Party at the Hebrew Union College (1 W 4th St)*

*Subject to client approval

WHERE:   Skirball Center for the Performing Arts

566 LaGuardia Place

(Between W 3rd and W 4th Sts)

New York, NY 10012


PRESS RSVP:  Norah Lawlor | Lawlor Media Group | www.lawlormediagroup.com

RSVP@lawlormediagroup.com | Tel: (212) 967-6900